Thirsty Thursday: Strawberry and Basil Lemonade with Bourbon

If you’re friends with me on Facebook or Instagram, you may have noticed my post earlier. One picture was last night’s dinner and the other was bunch of sliced strawberries.

IMG_20170621_171159

Now for the (maybe not very) grand reveal of what I was slicing strawberries for!

But first, backstory because backstory is the best.

My book club had our three year anniversary party on Saturday. I have a bunch of frozen strawberries given to us by one of Miles’ aunts. I decided to make essentially an icebox cake with strawberries, but the recipe called for fresh strawberries in addition to the frozen strawberries. BiLo was running a two for $4 deal on strawberries and the book club only ate about half a package of strawberries. Miles and I were left with one and a  half packs of strawberries. With the remaining half of the first pack, I made strawberry salad. But that still left me with a whole pack to use up and quickly.

I also found myself with a surplus of mint and basil from my little herb garden on my patio table. The mint, sadly, didn’t make it (I picked a vessel that was too small and didn’t fill it up enough), but I had a ton of basil left. I searched for a bunch of recipes, but the thing that sounded most promising was this low-carb strawberry mint mojito off of one of my favorite low-carb blogs, I Breathe I’m Hungry.

I considered just doing this, but Miles and I don’t really drink rum and I didn’t want to be stuck with a bottle of something we would take forever finish. So, I decided to switch to bourbon instead. And replaced the mint with the basil. And didn’t mix the liquor into the pitcher.

So! After all that, I made these drinks last night. They’re refreshing, light, and better with a little splash of club soda.

I haven’t come up with a super catchy name for this. BBLS? Bourbon, Basil, Lemonade, Strawberry? No. BBS Lemonade? Hmm. I don’t know. I’ll have to think on a better name. Until then, Strawberry and Basil Lemonade with Bourbon will have to do. Here’s the recipe (which is really more of a guideline since you can mix the bourbon and club soda to your liking).

IMG_20170621_171708

  • One pitcher packet of Crystal Lite Lemonade
  • One package of strawberries
  • Four large sprigs of basil
  • Bourbon
  • Club soda

This probably makes eight drinks.

  1. Slice strawberries, leaving ends off. Set aside.
  2. Rinse your fresh basil and set aside to dry.
  3. Make one pitcher (2 quarts) of crystal lite lemonade. Add the strawberries to the pitcher.
  4. Refrigerate at least an hour to let the strawberries seep their flavor into the lemonade.
  5. Pour the lemonade mixture into a tall glass (with or without ice), two thirds of the way full. Scoop some of the strawberries from the pitcher into the glass.
  6. Take four to five leaves off a sprig of basil. Roll the basil between your palms to release the oils and scent. Add it to the glass.

This is where things get personalized, but in general:

  1. Pour one shot of bourbon into the drink. Follow with a splash of club soda.
  2. Stir and/or muddle everything together in the glass and enjoy!

IMG_20170621_180757

One thought on “Thirsty Thursday: Strawberry and Basil Lemonade with Bourbon

Leave a Reply

