Lit Tuesday: Progress Report

Okay, I’m a day late. Sorry. I got home and started reading and I should know not to do that by now.

Well, at least, not until after I’ve posted my entry for the day.

So, good news! Remember I was talking a couple of weeks back about the stories I’m working on? I finished part one of the post-apocalyptic one!

Now I have no idea where I’m going with it.

My writing style in the past has always been more of a gardener writer rather than an architect. I find that if I try to plan out too much, I wind up essentially writing the story during planning and then never go back and finish fleshing it out.

That said, one thing I’ve been trying to do lately with stories is, to run with the gardening metaphor, section out major areas and then leave a lot of space in between. Does that make sense? I hope so.

If a story is a garden for me, I have areas where I know, “Okay, I’m going to put herbs over in that area and put veggies over here and then the annuals here.” But I don’t know what’s going to come up in between the areas or what exactly is going to be planted in those areas.

Hitting just the major plot points has been helpful. And that’s what I need to figure out for part two (and, I dunno, maybe three) for the post-apocalyptic story (which, by the way, remains nameless).

I have a few different ideas of where I think I want the story to go. I need to do some more research related to both mythology and science. I’m not sure if I want the story to be based in mythology since I already have Utangard doing that. (But if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, I guess?) It can’t hurt to research and try to use elements out of the myths, though.

As far as the science side of it, we’ll see what happens. I need to get to the library, but I also would think that I should be able to find some of the information I need online. (Yes, I know, Wikipedia can’t be trusted. My professors beat that into my head when writing papers.) One would think that NASA’s website would be a good reference. We’ll see!

Either way, I feel much better having finally gotten to the end of part one. But it’s only part one. There’s a whole lot more to this story to grow yet!

2 thoughts on “Lit Tuesday: Progress Report

  1. Psh. If peer reviewed articles are the standard, Wikipedia is the most effectively peer reviewed source on the planet. You go this 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

