Lit Tuesday: Works in Progress

Part of the reason I started this blog was because I wanted to try to make myself write at least a little something a couple of times a week. This, in turn, would hopefully help me start developing habits to where I actively make time to write rather than thinking to myself, “Oh, sleep is important. How can I sleep and wake up and write?” or “Staying up late to write is when I write best, but then I’m so tired the next morning!”

It’s true. The time I seem to write best is probably 10:00 to 2:00 in the morning, which is odd considering I’m much more of an early bird. I enjoy leisurely mornings where I can sit, drink my two cups of coffee, and veg out. Unfortunately, I should avoid doing that just so I can use my time wisely. Baby steps. Baby steps. You can’t change the world in a day and all that. As my friend over at The Nifty Notebook likes to say, “Sometimes, life happens.”

So here I am, blogging. Trying to be more consistent. While I try to work on that, these are the two main stories that I’m working on (or, rather, attempting to). I have been working on both of these since my senior year of college, I think.

FIRST STORY

The first story, I have tentatively named Utangard. It’s based in Norse mythology. If you have to compare it to something, it will probably be similar to Rick Riordan’s different mythology series. When I started working on it for NaNoWriMo in 2012, I didn’t anticipate it growing beyond this one story. But by the time I hit 50,000 words (this is the only time I have won NaNoWriMo), it had grown into something larger, something that I think will encompass several different mythologies.

The story is focused around two characters at first: Eira and Oreon. They’re travelers that go to every realm in the land, make friends wherever they go, and enjoy a wandering life. Political and religious troubles are starting up, though, putting them at risk. Fanatics have proclaimed that there are false gods and goddesses walking the earth that shall be known by marks and often are in the company of the Vanargand. (The Vanargand are large wolves with the ability to talk. Oreon is one.) These rumors put Eira, Oreon, and their families in trouble. When they have to flee with the help of a Midgardian Captain, the two decide to travel to get to the bottom of what’s going on. The Captain accompanies them, as does another friendly wandering human who fell into their adventure quite accidentally.

When I hit 50,000 words with this thing, it was a full stop. Granted, it was my senior year of college, so I had a lot going on, but still. I didn’t really pick this story up again until last year. I have it mapped out. I know where I want it to go. It’s just a matter of making myself sit and stare at a computer screen and start writing it.

SECOND STORY

I don’t have a name for this one. This story has gone through maybe five different beginnings before I finally settled on one I liked. That’s the one that has made it the farthest. This is also the easiest one for me to work on because I’m writing it in a notebook. (I know. Heavens! Who does that these days? What if it gets ruined!? Don’t worry. That thought plagues me sometimes.)

I call this one my post-apocalyptic fantasy story. The idea came to me based off of one line I heard in a series about outer space: if Betelgeuse were to go supernova, Earth is on the edge of its projected radius of radiation.

Whether or not that’s true (and I’m not sure if I could find it again), it set me off on this story. That’s essentially the whole thing. Betelgeuse goes supernova and bathes the earth in radiation. What does the radiation do?

I’m enjoying writing this one because it’s focused so much on human nature and adaptability. I am, of course, going to add a more mythological/fantasy element to it. I think this also has the potential to be a series or a really long book. Call me Georgina R.R. Martin.

There is even less excuse for me on this for why I don’t work on it other than sheer lack of motivation/poor time planning/poor planning in general/etc. I really want to finish this one first because I feel it’s closer to the end of the first arc than Utangard is.

Who else has these plots hiding in their closets/hard drive/living room, waiting for the moment they’re unleashed to the light?

 

2 thoughts on “Lit Tuesday: Works in Progress

Leave a Reply

