Thirsty Thursday: Four Summer Events (and an Outlier)

One of the things that I really like about Charleston is that there’s always something going on or somewhere new to go. We managed to make it every tap room that was open last year, then five or seven new breweries opened this year with more on the way. It’s challenging to keep up with all the changes and new places on top of fundraisers and events. However, that’s half the fun!

For this edition of Thirsty Thursday, I decided to take a more immediate future approach and throw together a list of upcoming events or openings I’d like to check out over the summer.

First up is the Barn Jam at Awendaw Green. Several of my friends have been and always speak highly of it. It’s a really relaxed atmosphere (BYOB, picnicking, pet friendly, and family friendly). It’s a $5 donation at the door to get in. The biggest issue with these is that they’re on Wednesday nights in Awendaw, making it close to a 45 minute drive for us to get back to our house. But we have to get out to it at least once this summer!

The second event is a rose tasting at Edmund’s Oast. I haven’t been to Edmund’s Oast in a while (and Miles has never been), so this would be a good opportunity. My mom has been on the hunt to find a good rose, so this is a good opportunity! Two birds with one stone and all that. And while we’re there, maybe we’d be able to check out the new Charleston Beer Exchange if they’re open.

Third is a beer festival. I’m not sure if I’m ready to give the Charleston Beer Festival another try yet or not. Miles and I went for the first year and didn’t have exactly the greatest time. It was really hot and seemed expensive at the time (but it probably was reasonably priced since it was a new event). Now that they have had a year or two under their belts since the inaugural one, I may be willing to give it a try. However, the Ballpark Festival of Beers has consistently been my favorite one to go to. The price is right and, even though it’s really crowded, it works out. You grab your first sample, get immediately into another line, and by the time you’re done, you’re at the front of the line. We’ll have to make a decision between those two.

Fourth would be a beer dinner. Again, Miles hasn’t been to one and I think they’re awesome. I mean, it’s hard to go wrong with fantastic food paired with the right beer. Sadly, they do tend to be on the more expensive side. However, it looks like there’s one at Circa 1886 in June! I haven’t been to this restaurant and the $60 per person is on par with what I’d expect to pay, especially from one of the higher-end restaurants in town.

The fifth event is something my parents have been to (and also is in November, not during the summer). The Lowcountry Hoedown is in its sixth year now. I’ve heard good things about it and it sounds like it would be up our alley (I mean, bourbon and BBQ?). With it being in the Visitor Bus Shed, it’ll promise to be crowded, though. Crowd size is often a big deterrent for us (yes, really).

Who knows what else will come up between this post and this summer, though? Like I said, there’s always stuff happening in Charleston.

Leave a Reply

