Lit Tuesday: Reading Challenge Check #1

I figured, since I’m doing this reading challenge, I should provide you guys with an update. This is also a good way for me to figure out how my progress is going and to maybe chastise myself and tell myself to stop getting distracted with other things. (Me? Getting distracted? Perish the thought!)

 

  • A book you read in school: Still thinking Watership Down by Richard Adams
  • A book from your childhood: The Dalemark Quartet by Diana Wynne Jones (and what a trip down memory lane it was!)
  • A book published more than 100 years ago: Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen.
  • A book published in the last year: Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Ship of the Dead by Rick Riordan. No, it’s not out yet, but it will still count, I think.
  • A non-fiction book: The Professor and the Madman by Simon Winchester
  • A book written by a male author: The Power of Myth by Joseph Campbell
  • A book written by a female authorMother Ireland by Edna O’Brien
  • A book by someone who isn’t an author: Undecided. I’ll happily take a suggestion.
  • A book that became a film: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson
  • A book published in the 20th century: To Have and Have Not by Ernest Hemingway
  • A book set in your hometown/region: Death du Jour by Cathy Reichs. Charlotte’s probably as close to my hometown as I can get.
  • A book with a number in the title: Fourth and Long by John U. Bacon. Currently reading this.
  • A book with a character with your first name: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. Apparently Netflix turned this into a series.
  • A book someone recommended to you: Rammer Jammer Yellow Hammer by Warren St. John
  • A book with over 500 pages: Ireland by Frank Delaney
  • A book you can finish in a day: The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
  • A previously banned book: Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
  • A book with a one-word title: Hunter by Mercedes Lackey
  • A book translated from another language: The Book of Greek and Roman Folktales, Legends and Myths by William Hansen
  • A book that will improve a specific area of your life: Still undecided.
  • A memoir or journal: A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson. I’m about to start this one with my book club!
  • A book written by someone younger than you: Chosen Soldiers by R.H. Scott (born 1991, apparently)
  • A book set somewhere you’ll be visiting this year: Big Red Tequila by Rick Riordan (set in San Antonio!)
  • An award-winning book: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime
    by Mark Haddon
  • A self-published book: The Cleansweep Conspiracy by Chuck Waldron

See? While I’ve made some decisions, I still need decide on two. And I obviously need to step up my reading game and stop getting distracted by other books instead (looking at you, Extraordinaries).

Anyone have any suggestions for a book that will improve an area of my life or a book by someone who isn’t an author?

 

Leave a Reply

