Thirsty Thursday: Coopers’ Craft

It’s Thursday! Time for a new alcohol-related review.

I use an app called Ibotta to get rebates on purchases at the grocery store and whatnot. Liquor stores are included, so when I saw it was $4 back on a bottle of something called Coopers’ Craft Kentucky Bourbon, I figured, what the heck? Let’s try it!

Here’s what I thought of it.

IMG_20170315_184012

  • Price: $26.99 (or $22.99 if you want to include the rebate)
  • Color: Amber, honey tones
  • Smell: Some corn mash, smoky, vanilla, oak
    • *One thing I’ve come to understand is that you say whatever immediately comes to mind when you taste/smell liquor. Not sure if that’s true, but it’s what I try to do, even if it doesn’t make sense. I’m still refining my sense of smell and honing the taste buds.
  • Taste: Vanilla, almond, smoky, fairly strong alcohol taste, but not a crazy strong burn or anything. It just pleasantly rolls across the tongue.

I think, overall, I give this a 6/10. I really liked it as I started the bottle, but by the time I finished it, I was kinda “meh” on it. I definitely don’t like it as much as I like Evan Williams Single Barrel (which is also $26.99 and a much better buy taste-wise, I think). This would be good for someone who’s just starting bourbon and wants to step up from your standard well bourbons (like Kentucky Gentleman, Old Crow, Benchmark 10, and so on).

I’m not sure what is next to try, but there’s a whole app of stuff now, apparently. And we have to start on brewery visits again. Our previous claim of having been to all the open tasting rooms in Charleston no longer stands. I think there have been about five breweries that have opened in the area since the New Year’s. It’s crazy, but awesome!

Leave a Reply

