Lit Tuesday: Polynesian Books

I watched Moana over the weekend. I’ll admit, I can’t get the soundtrack out of my mind. The pacing of several of the songs is different from most other Disney soundtracks. The fact that the main character is portrayed by an unknown actress is really exciting, too–I think her voice is astounding. It also doesn’t hurt that it turns out The Rock can sing, too. What can’t that man do at this point?

There are a lot of people out there who are, naturally, comparing this to Frozen. I do think there are some similarities, but not many. I’m glad to see Disney continue to provide strong heroines that don’t wistfully sigh and wish they could be saved by someone. (Yes, I’m still a sucker for the original Disney movies, but these recent ones with strong female leads are really awesome.) I’ll be really interested to see if Disney continues exploring legends that aren’t exclusively Grimm’s Fairy Tales. Or even a female pirate or something. There’s a ton of material out there!

Since I finished The Dalemark Quartet and haven’t moved on to another book yet, I thought I’d put together a list of five Polynesian fiction books that could be fun to read at some point in the future.

  1. Moloka’i by Alan Brennert
  2. Typee: A Peep at Polynesian Life by Herman Melville
  3. Call It Courage by Armstrong Perry
  4. The Bone People by Keri Hulme
  5. The Whale Rider by Witi Ihamaera

I’m keeping it short and sweet this time around. I’ll also be skipping out on Thursday. We’re going to a concert! Gary Allan’s one of the performers, so we’ll be enjoying that (though we’ll probably be cold, too).

Any suggestions for more Polynesian books?

Leave a Reply

