Lit Tuesday #1: 2017 Reading Challenge

Alrighty! As promised previously, here’s the first of the Lit Tuesday posts.

One of the things I’m wanting to try out this year is this reading challenge. 25 books in a year and each one is different in some way or another. For people who know me, they know I’m a fast reader. (My personal proof on that one is that I read the last Harry Potter book in six and a half hours. Like, I went to the midnight release, started reading it in the car immediately, and finished it at 6:30 that morning.)

I’ve never done a reading challenge, though, so I thought it would be cool to try it out this year. I’m in a book club/writing group (shout out to any GRAWP members reading this) and some of the reading choices we’ve had in there have certainly been challenging or outside my normal realm. Lately, I’ve been feeling like I’m in a funk, always reading the same genre and never really challenging myself (I mean, four years of undergrad with a literature minor will burn anyone out), so I thought this list would be a great way to work on that. Not really a resolution, but a goal for the year.

Here’s what I have lined up (or not) so far:

  1.   A book you read in school: I’m thinking about Watership Down by Richard Adams for this, in honor of his passing away in December 2016.
  2. A book from your childhood: Not certain on this, but I’ve been searching high and low for The Dalemark Quartet by Diana Wynne Jones (you might recognize her name from Howl’s Moving Castle). It’s looking like thriftybooks.com will be my best bet for this (and yes, I want to read all four of them).
  3. A book published more than 100 years ago: I’ll pick something from Jane Austen for this, I think.
  4. A book published in the last year: Undecided
  5. A non-fiction book: I’m going to give The Professor and the Madman by Simon Winchester a try again.
  6. A book written by a male author: The Power of Myth by Joseph Campbell. It has been on my list for a while.
  7. A book written by a female author: I have a couple of Edna O’Brien books to pick from.
  8. A book by someone who isn’t an author: Undecided
  9. A book that became a film: I still haven’t read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson, so I’ll do that for this one.
  10. A book published in the 20th century: To Have and to Have Not by Ernest Hemingway. I bought this when we were on our honeymoon in Key West, so I should go ahead and read it.
  11. A book set in your hometown/region: I’ll have to figure this one out.
  12. A book with a number in the title: Fourth and Long by John U. Bacon. I want to do some more reading into college football.
  13. A book with a character with your first name: It might be a little unsettling, but I picked Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. The main character is a girl named Hannah who committed suicide (hence the “unsettling” comment).
  14. A book someone recommended to you: Rammer Jammer Yellow Hammer by Warren St. John. More college football.
  15. A book with over 500 pages: I’ve had Ireland by Frank Delaney sitting on my shelf for a while.
  16. A book you can finish in a day: I think The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho should fit the bill.
  17. A previously banned book: Undecided
  18. A book with a one-word title: Hunter by Mercedes Lackey. She’s one of my favorite authors (I love the feel-good stuff).
  19. A book translated from another language: Undecided, but leaning towards something by Murakami.
  20. A book that will improve a specific area of your life: Probably going to attempt something financial here.
  21. A memoir or journal: I suggested A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson to my book club, so it should count here.
  22. A book written by someone younger than you: This one might be hard. Any suggestions on authors younger than 27?
  23. A book set somewhere you’ll be visiting this year: I’m trying to research books on San Antonio for this.
  24. An award-winning book: Undecided
  25. A self-published book: Undecided, but probably a bunch of the ebooks that I have would qualify.

What do you think of the list? Will you take the challenge? Do you have any suggestions for topics I’m missing books for?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “Lit Tuesday #1: 2017 Reading Challenge

  1. I’m currently right there in the trenches with you on that 2017 reading challenge. Currently on book number 2 doing the ‘Book Someone Recommended to You’ one. Looking forward to seeing your progress!

    Like

Leave a Reply

